Flock automatically syncs your chat history so no matter which device you’re using, you can pick up a conversation from right where you left off. It also intelligently syncs notifications so you are not bombarded by the same 'new message' notification on multiple devices at once.
Here is how Flock syncs your messages and notifications:
- For new messages in a chat or channel, you are notified first on your last active device - where you most recently interacted with Flock.
- You can access these new messages on any device using our desktop, mobile and browser apps. All messages are synced periodically as well as when you launch Flock on your device.
- Following the first notification, if there is no activity in 3 minutes, Flock resends the notification and sends further notifications to all devices where you're signed in to Flock.
- When you check unread Flock messages on one device, they are marked as read on all your devices.
Let's consider you use Flock on 2 devices - a Windows PC and an Android smartphone - and you last used Flock 10 minutes ago on your smartphone. Here’s what happens:
- When a new message comes in, you are notified on your smartphone first.
- Flock waits 3 minutes for you to read or act on the notification from any of your devices.
- Check unread messages on your smartphone and further notifications will show up there first. Check them on your PC and further notifications will show up on your PC first.
- After 3 minutes of no activity, Flock notifies you about the new message on both your smartphone and PC. Any further notifications are sent to both devices.
- Once you access Flock again on one of these devices, it becomes the last active device and process is repeated for new messages.
- Finally, when you check unread Flock messages on your smartphone, they will be marked as 'read' on your PC and vice versa.
Exceptions to the rule:
- You’ll not be notified about new messages in muted channels on any device. You’ll receive notifications for @mentions in all channels, including muted ones on your last active device. Click here to know how to mute a channel.
- You’ll not receive any notifications if you set Flock on DND mode on any device (for the specified duration). Click here to know how to enable DND mode.